Channel Preferences/ePermission opt-out
Customers may wish to opt-out of your mailing list and there are several ways that this wish could be communicated to you:
The customer opts-out via their ePermissions webpage
The customer can access their ePermissions webpage at any time via the link on both their original email and confirmation email they received when they first set their ePermissions
The customer selects Opt-out and clicks the Update Preferences button
All other choices will be deselected automatically

The ePermissions selection is changed automatically on the Channel Preferences page of the customer record and the customer’s email address and phone number is removed. The Consent Evidence start date is amended to the date the preferences were changed

The customer will receive an email confirming they have been opted-out. The email will be recorded on the History page of the customer record

The customer opts-out via an unsubscribe link on a communication from your organisation
If the unsubscribe link is generic it will take the customer to a login page where they will be asked to enter their email address.

- The email address will be checked to ensure it matches with the email address recorded in Actis
- If it doesn’t then the customer will receive a message to let them know the email address was not found and will be able to try again
- If the email address does match, the customer will be taken directly to their webpage where they can change their preferences as above
If the unsubscribe link is generic is personalised it will take the customer to their ePermissions webpage where they can opt-out.
The customer will receive an email confirming they have been opted-out. The email will be recorded on the History page of the customer record
The customer opts-out via a written communication directly to you or your organisation
If a customer writes to your organisation directly requesting to be removed from the mailing list, then your Actis administrator has the permissions to update the customer record manually with the change. To comply with GDPR these requests must be acted upon in a timely manner.
- Open the customer record
- Under the Navigation tab open the Channel Preferences page
- Tick the Opt-out checkbox
- Delete the customer email address from the Email Address field
- In the Consent Evidence section change Type from ePermissions to an option that matches the opt-out communication received from the customer, i.e. email, written, etc
- Click the Browse (magnifying glass) button next to the Attachment field and browse your computer to find and upload the opt-out communication from the customer
- Click the Calendar button next to the date field to set the date that the opt-out instruction is effective from
- Click in the Notes field and type any relevant comments
- Click the Save or Save and Exit button to confirm all changes
The customer is opted-out automatically
If your organisation has set a limit on the duration ePermissions are valid for, customers will automatically be opted out by the system on the period expiry date
The Channel Preferences page will change on the customer record to show that the opt-out was set by the system, the customer email address will be removed and the consent evidence start date will update to display the date the change was made.
The customer is made inactive
The inactivate customer process overrides any ePermissions set and inactive customer records do not appear in any customer list or searches unless specifically requested









