Merge duplicate customers
The same customer has been included twice in the database, either at the same location or at different locations.
Customers can only be merged where they are both attached to the same location record. You may need to move a customer to the correct location before you carry out the merge.
Merging records will move all information, including channel preference data, from the source record to the destination record where the information does not already exist. Calls and Meetings are unique, so all historical and future contacts and meetings will be moved from the source to the destination record.
- Find and open the location record
- Under the Navigation tab click Customers
- In the customer list select the two customers to be merged – first the source record (the one you want removed) and then the destination record (the one you want to keep)
- Under the Actions tab select Merge Customers
- Confirm that the Merge (source record) and Into (destination record) names appear correctly
- The Delete after Merge checkbox is ticked by default, only untick this box if you want to retain an inactive record for any reason (retaining an empty customer record is not usually necessary)
- Click the Merge Customers button
- If you chose to delete the record after the merge, then you will be asked to confirm the action
- Click the OK button
- The merge will take place and a message will confirm the process completed successfully
- Click the OK button
- The customer list will refresh and the source record will be removed

Important: If your company subscribes to third-party data (IQVIA, Wilmington’s, etc) then the record with their ID number will always be the destination record that is retained. You cannot merge two records from a third-party source.









